Home Page

A visit from Mr. John Barnett MBE, DL. Deputy Lieutenant of Lancashire

A visit from Mr. John Barnett MBE, DL.

Deputy Lieutenant of Lancashire



Mr. Barnett visited the children of Boundary Primary School today to speak about his role as Deputy Lord Lieutenant Of Lancashire and his role as Her Majesty the Queens Royal Representative in Blackpool and to explain the Commonwealth and the part Britain plays within it. He is a well-known and popular local figure; among many other roles and responsibilities he is probably best known as the former High Sheriff of Lancashire.


What does the title MBE stand for?


An MBE is an award given by the Queen to an individual for outstanding service to the community or local 'hands on' service. The definition of MBE is Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire. Receiving an MBE can provide much needed positive publicity to the nominee's chosen charity, community effort or profession, allowing them to build on their achievements and contribute even more to society.


What does your uniform signify?


Since at least the 18th century, male Lord Lieutenant’s have worn a military-style uniform. At present, it is a dark blue barathea uniform, with trousers having a scarlet stripe, with a cap in the style of a General Officer's Army No. 1 dress (but with buttons, shoulder-boards, sash etc. in silver rather than gold). The buttons and cap badge bear a crown above a Tudor Rose. The uniform includes a sword and spurs.



What is the Commonwealth?


The Commonwealth is one of the world’s oldest political association of states. Its roots go back to the British Empire when some countries were ruled directly or indirectly by Britain. Some of these countries became self-governing while retaining Britain’s monarch (Her Majesty the Queen) as Head of State. In 1949, they formed the British Commonwealth of Nations. Since then, independent countries from Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe and the Pacific have joined The Commonwealth. Membership today is based on free and equal voluntary co-operation. The last two countries to join The Commonwealth were Rwanda and Mozambique.

Member countries share a diverse social, political, and economic background and are all regarded as equal in status, cooperating with common values and goals.